Emilie Halbach, MD

I was born and raised just up the road in Santa Barbara County. Fortunate enough to have two geologist parents, I grew up going out on extended field studies and developed an early love for the natural world. This deepened when I was privileged enough to attend a middle school that used the outdoor experience as an educational adjunct with biking and backpacking trips across the West. After graduating from Santa Barbara High School, I attended and graduated from UC Berkeley with degrees in Psychology and Public Health, and then moved to rural Thailand for a year where I helped teach English to nursing students. After returning, I waited tables at famed Santa Barbara establishment Harry's Plaza Cafe until beginning a pre-medical post-baccalaureate program at Mills College in Oakland, CA. There I also taught chemistry to undergraduate and post-bac students, and spent a summer in Wyoming obtaining a Wilderness-EMT certification. Following completion of my post-bac, I lived in San Francisco and worked for a facial plastic surgeon as a clinical research coordinator and an OR scrub tech until I was accepted to UC Davis School of Medicine. At UCDSOM, I was a member of the Rural-PRIME track which focused clinical experiences specifically to rural and low resource areas in northern California.

As a fourth-year medical student, I was hopelessly undecided between a career in emergency medicine or family medicine to provide the best training for proper health care delivery to rural and low resource populations. After rotating at VCMC as a medical student extern, I saw that you could train as a family physician and reap the rewards of relationships and continuity while also receiving more than enough emergency and critical care training. I was also blown away by the mutual respect between residents and attendings, and the supportive relationship with all staff. I'm so humbled to be apart of this community, and there's not a single place I'd rather be for this wild experience.

In my non-medical time, I like looking at my plants, talking about rocks, watching some Netflix, going on some hikes, and trying to convince my parents to get another dog.